Page tree

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Rationale

The primary focus of this affinity group is to call attention to ethical considerations around ongoing and newly proposed work using Linked Data technologies. A core guiding principle of the group is that ethics should be a forethought, not an afterthought, of any initiative as a way to not only potentially reduce harm, but to prevent further harm. The group serves as a space for exploration and discussion of the ethical implications (both positive and negative) of linked data and work towards developing a Code of Ethics and toolkit of resources to provide a critical and ethical framework for designing linked data projects. The group aims to act in an advisory capacity to the LD4 community and beyond.

Motivating areas of work

  • Identification of existing barriers to implementing an ethical framework
  • Recognizing global and cultural differences on right, wrong, legal, ethical
  • Differentiating between decisions and labor around creating and publishing
  • Addressing complicated and problematic legacy data
  • Confronting potential loss of control as a result of more open and available data
  • Respecting the wishes and desires of the creators
  • Utilizing new technology in order to enhance current possibilities

Approach

Calls

Calls are via Zoom: Last Tuesday of the month, 11am PDT / 12pm MT / 1pm CT / 2pm ET (Time zone converter)

  • No labels