Child pages
  • Hyrax Batch Import-Export WG
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

READY

Scope & Objectives

There is a general need across institutions using Hyrax to import and export batches of objects to support a range of use cases, such as:

  • importing batch outputs from a digitization project
  • migrating from a different repository system to Hyrax
  • batch updating existing works or files
  • exporting batches of objects for import into a preservation system
  • exporting a whole repository for import into another application

A recent discussion on the samvera-tech google group demonstrated that there are various approaches already used across the community and indicated that there is community interest in a working group to define a common approach.

This working group will work towards defining this standard approach to batch _import_ and _export_ ('roundtripping').

Deliverables & Timeframe

  1. Report on use cases and requirements for batch import and export.
    1. Report
  2. Summary report on existing Hyrax batch import (and export) tooling and approaches.
    1. Summary (with link to feature matrix)
  3. Proposed specification for import and export formats.
    1. High-level outline specification
  4. Recommendations for phase two of the working group.

Phase one will run from July 2018 until Samvera Connect 2018 (October 2018), with deliverables available for presentation at Samvera Connect.

Meeting Times & Communication Channels


Meeting info:

Weekly, Thursdays at 5PM BST (12pm Eastern, 11am Central, 10am Mountain, 9am Pacific)

Join from PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or Android: https://ucsd.zoom.us/j/677553295

Or iPhone one-tap :
    US: +16699006833,,677553295#  or +16465588656,,677553295#
Or Telephone:
    Dial(for higher quality, dial a number based on your current location):
        US: +1 669 900 6833  or +1 646 558 8656
    Meeting ID: 677 553 295
    International numbers available: https://zoom.us/u/cVYnjtlFM

Members

Note that Working Groups must have participants from three different Partners.  All members of a working group producing software must be licensed Samvera contributors covered by the appropriate CLAs. Other types of contributions such as requirements, design, best practices, documentation, etc. - do not require CLAs but participants should accept that the materials to which they contribute may be released under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.


Resources

Meeting Notes

  • No labels