Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Scope & Objectives (adopted 17 Feb 2015)

What set of practices, standards, tools, and infrastructure do we want for geospatial objects, and non-geospatial objects with geo characteristics? How can institutions move from simply providing access to GIS data to sustainable full-lifecycle repository based management of GIS data? How can we create consensus and collaboration in answering these questions? Topics of interest will include: 

  • Geographic metadata - practices for representing geospatial metadata for non-geo objects, e.g., place name subject headings in MaRC records
  • Geospatial data in a wide variety of formats and types (e.g., ingesting shapefiles, geodatabases, raster images)
  • Licensing issues 
  • Access services: e.g., authentication, web service protocols (WMS, WFS, etc.)
  • Workflows: production, curation, publication, and preservation of GIS data  
  • Building and operating spatial data infrastructure (e.g., GeoServer, PostGIS, tile cache) 
  • Preservation services
  • Metadata standards: e.g., FGDC vs ISO 
  • Metadata services: e.g., gazetteer management, linked data approaches 
  • Metadata sharing: e.g., OpenGeoMetadata 
  • Management and integration of GIS data in a repository: e.g., modeling GIS data in Fedora 4
  • Discovery services: e.g., geoportals, GeoBlacklight, Blacklight-Maps 

Meeting Times & Communication Channels

This interest group was scheduled to have a bi-monthly phone call on the 3rd Thursday quarterly, with more frequent meetings for specific working groups.  Future scheduling for this interest group has yet to be determined, and may change in accordance with the needs of active members.

As recommended in the current best practices within Samvera, we will use an existing channel unless and until it becomes clear that a dedicated channel is needed. We will use samvera-tech for technical conversations, samvera-community for general discussion, and samvera-partners for anything related to the Samvera partnership itself. Discussions related to this IG should be prefaced with [geospatial]. 

Upcoming phone calls: 

  • Next call: 08/14/19 (01:00 PDT/04:00 EDT - 02:00 PDT/05:00 EDT)

 

Members

At least three organizations must be represented in an interest group.  Anyone may be part of an interest group with or without a CLA, as there are no deliverables from the group.

  • Chair: James R. Griffin III (Princeton University Library)
  • Andrew Battista (New York University)
  • Eliot Jordan (Princeton University)
  • Emily Stenberg (Washington University in St. Louis)
  • Jack Reed (Stanford U)
  • Christina Chortaria (Princeton University)
  • John Huck (University of Alberta Libraries)
  • Julie Sweetkind-Singer (Stanford U)
  • Kim Durante (Stanford U)
  • Larry Laliberte (University of Alberta Libraries)
  • Stace Maples (Stanford U)
  • Tom Brittnacher (UC Santa Barbara)


Resources

Meeting Notes


Working Groups

Events


  • No labels