Child pages
  • Samvera Newspapers Interest Group Call: 2018-08-02
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Time: 1 PM EST/ 12PM CST/ 11AM MST/ 10AM PST

Call-In Info: 712-775-7035 (Access Code: 960009)

Moderator: Eben English (Boston Public Library)

Notetaker: Brian McBride

Attendees

Regrets

Agenda (with notes)

  1. IMLS Grant Project Update

    1. PDF Ingest update
    2. General development update (https://github.com/marriott-library/newspaper_works)
    3. Newspapers vagrant box for community testing (https://github.com/marriott-library/samvera-vagrant)
    4. Public Newspapers testing similar, similar to nurax, is planned to be made public later this year.

  2. Derivative Storage Discussion - https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/samvera-tech/XtkPEzrWnho
    1. Hyrax Method - default is to store all derivatives on file system 
      1. HyraxDerivatives - possible to store on both file system and repo? (need to verify)
    2. Newspaper Use Cases
      1. Derivative Files Storage (pdf, jp2)
        1. Issues
          1. Each Newspaper issue is expected to have multiple objects (pdf, pj2, tiff, mets-alto xml, ocr text)
          2. Derivatives will be large 2mb+ each
          3. Performance concerns with Fedora 
          4. Derivative generation is expensive (time and cpu, image and ocr generation)
        2. Possible models
          1. Store objects on file system 
          2. Store objects in repository (Fedora)
          3. Store objects on file system and repository
          4. Other?

  3. OCR conversion (https://github.com/marriott-library/newspaper_works/wiki/OCR-Notes)

  4. Content Examples
    1. https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0BwKKtxaBVqjEbE5zMFdWUEU4WGM?usp=sharing
      1. Still need: CONTENTdm, TEI, Olive

  5. Intel sharing from other groups/projects

  6. Blacklight IIIF Search Gem - https://github.com/boston-library/blacklight_iiif_search  
    1. Looking for users to test out alpha release and provide feedback

  7. Next meeting: Thursday September 6, 1 PM EST/ 12PM CST/ 11AM MST/ 10AM PST

Action items

  •